Skip to content

7 Excuses you Need to Stop Making

2014/09/17

“Don’t make excuses. Make things happen. Make changes. Then make history.” – Doug Hall 

I don’t have enough time

This excuse is probably the biggest enemy to anyone with a goal they are not yet on the road to accomplishing. Many of us push our goals and responsibilities to the side when we feel they require more time than we have available, however, time is relative to how you use it. There is always available time for the things we want to get done, we just need to be more choosy of the ways we fill our time throughout the day. Rather than filling our time with meaningless procrastination, we can use that time to accomplish the bigger goals when we make them a priority throughout our day.

I’m OK with where I am right now

There’s a big difference between being genuinely happy with where you are in your life and just settling because you’re happy enough with the circumstances. Simply accepting the current conditions of you life and learning to accept them could be holding you back from achieving your goals. Stop being “just OK” with where you are in life and break from the status quo. There is nothing wrong with trying and failing. As they say “shoot for the moon – if you miss, at least you’ll land among the stars.”

“I’m afraid of ______.”

When it comes to achieving your goals, fear can be your greatest enemy or your best friend. Fear is the driving force behind many of life’s actions, whether good or bad. Whether it’s fear of failure, fear or change, or even fear of success – fear is the most powerful excuse we have for avoiding certain situations and goals. In the end, it doesn’t matter what kind of fear it is, if we don’t take action we will continue to sit complacent. Without facing our fears we will never grow and achieve.

I can’t do it

Often when we don’t have the skills to complete a task or don’t have a strong enough sense of faith in ourselves we will simply say we can’t do it. If you don’t have the skills, what is stopping you from learning them? Practice doesn’t make perfect – there is no such thing. But it does make improvement that you can build upon. Throughout history, people have been pushing boundaries and proving seemingly impossible tasks to be possible. At one point people said “man can’t walk on the moon” so don’t take what others say as concrete proof that you can’t do something.

The circumstances aren’t right

If you ask people what is holding them back from success and happiness, chances are that nine out of ten will blame circumstances. Many of us believe that the outcome of our lives is only partially up to us and more due to the circumstances that surround us. If you’re always living in a world where A has to happen before you can accomplish B then you are never carving your own path, but rather depending on outside forces to accomplish your goals. You’re never going to be 100% ready for anything and the circumstances will never be perfect so you need to stop waiting and change what you can.

It’s too difficult

The most common excuse we often use is that a task is too difficult or impossible to complete. There will always be difficult goals in life, and the best way to keep yourself from completing them is by convincing yourself they’re impossible. As Alice in Wonderland once said “sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” Nothing worth having in life is ever easy, but if we work hard to develop the needed skills and believe that we can accomplish them, more often than not our goals are reached.

 

I’m the victim

When things aren’t going your way in life, it’s easy to blame others and make yourself the victim due to circumstances. It’s easy to tell yourself that you didn’t get that big promotion because your boss has a personal vendetta against you – and maybe he does – but it’s more likely that you need to reevaluate your work habits and just don’t see that because you’re deflecting fault to someone else. We often forget that we are not the centre of everyone’s universe, only our own. By owning up to our shortcomings we can recognize where we need improvement and take the necessary steps to fixing these areas.

Are you making excuses for yourself? Tell us below if you think there are a few excuses that we missed.

 

Join Aquarian’s Daily Thought to receive funny, inspirational quotes and thoughts daily, CLICK HERE to sign up!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Withheld permalink
    2013/03/20 10:12 am

    All Things Being Equal, this is great advice!
    Further, we should all refer to a list like this whenever we come up short – it’s a great way to assess ourselves objectively.

    I once had a very, very, very close friend to whom I would give various forms of encouragement, coaching and guidance and with whom I would share my life experiences, both good and bad. I wanted to bring the best out of this person. When I felt disappointed in this individual, when my expectations were not met, when I felt frustrated, I would impart advice very similar to that expressed here.

    Then something really, really, really bad happened. I was forced to reflect on my well-meaning and good intentions with much regret. As I reflect on this tragedy, as I look for the silver lining behind the dark cloud, and as I contemplate how best to salvage my relationship with my best friend I realize that if I had the chance to do this again, I would do it so differently. While I know I was giving the best advice I could, I’ve come to realize what a fool I am, how little I know and how little control we have over some things in life.

    I’ll keep trying, I’ll keep doing my best in the circumstances and I know I’ll fail my best friend again – but I’ll try to listen much, much, much more before imparting such advice again.

    Thank you, and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

